IoTextra MOSFET2 vs. MOSFET Output Modules — Specification Comparison

Introduction

This page compares the IoTextra MOSFET2 with a selection of MOSFET output modules and controllers designed to switch external DC loads.

IoTextra MOSFET2 is shown in two configurations: as an I/O expansion module for use with an external microcontroller or single-board computer, and paired with IoTsmart ESP32-S3. In the second configuration, the same MOSFET outputs become a self-contained ESP32-S3 networked I/O solution with Wi-Fi / MQTT control and no external host required.

The comparison is based on specifications and capabilities published by the respective manufacturers. The table compares output channel count, MOSFET type, maximum rated voltage and current per channel, galvanic isolation, control interface, hardware platform, software integrations, documentation, dimensions, load connectors, and price.

The products in the table use different architectures and target somewhat different use cases. The purpose of the table is not to identify a single “best” device, but to make the practical differences between the available approaches easier to see.

Scroll the table horizontally to see all products.

Parameter IoTextra MOSFET2 IoTextra MOSFET2 & IoTsmart ESP32-S3 Eight MOSFETS 8-Layer Stackable HAT (v6.1) MCP23008 8-Ch 8W 12V FET Solenoid Driver (PR21-4) I2C to 8 Channel Solenoid Driver (6318) Module13.2 4In8Out (M122) X-Q8 B8M (ESP32-S3, 8CH MOSFET) T-12
Manufacturer MTH MTH Sequent Microsystems NCD Adafruit M5Stack NORVI KinCony CEBEK
Link link link to IoTextra MOSFET2
link to IoTsmart ESP32-S3
link link link link link link link
1. Number of output channels 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
2. MOSFET type N-MOSFET N-MOSFET N-MOSFET N-MOSFET N-MOSFET N-MOSFET P-MOSFET not stated not stated
3. Max. rated voltage / current per channel 30 V / 9 A
60 V / 7 A
90 V / 6 A
(depending on version)
30 V / 9 A
60 V / 7 A
90 V / 6 A
(depending on version)
240 V / 4 A (4 ch.)
24 V / 12 A (4 ch.)
12 V / 5.5 A 24 V / 3.6 A 24 V / 1 A 24 V / not stated not stated / 10 A 50 V / 2 A
4. Galvanic isolation of control 2 groups of 4: optocoupler-isolated control + isolated DC-DC gate-drive power 2 groups of 4: optocoupler-isolated control + isolated DC-DC gate-drive power 2 groups of 4: optocoupler-isolated control + isolated DC-DC gate-drive power not stated not stated not stated dual optocoupler isolation not stated optocoupler-isolated control
5. Control interface · units per stack GPIO / I²C (up to 16 per stack) Wi-Fi / MQTT I²C (up to 8 per stack); RS-485 / Modbus RTU I²C (up to 8 per stack) I²C (up to 8 per stack) I²C (programmable address) I²C / NORVI X bus (up to 4 per stack) Ethernet / Wi-Fi / RS-485 8 discrete control inputs, 3–24 V
6. Host / hardware platform Raspberry Pi, Arduino Nano, ESP32-S3, RP2350, RP2040; IoTsmart / IoTbase Built-in ESP32-S3; no external host required Raspberry Pi via nodeLynk adapters: Arduino Uno/Nano/Micro/Due, Raspberry Pi, BeagleBone, PC (USB) 3.3 V / 5 V microcontrollers and SBCs; STEMMA QT / Qwiic M5Stack Basic / Fire / Core2 / CoreS3 NORVI X CPU Built-in ESP32-S3; no external host required Any platform with 8 GPIO
7. Software / integrations Node-RED, IoTflow, Tasmota, Home Assistant, Blynk Node-RED, IoTflow, Tasmota, Home Assistant, Blynk Python, Node-RED, Home Assistant, CODESYS, OpenPLC, Arduino Python, Java, Arduino, Node-RED Arduino, CircuitPython, Python Arduino, UIFlow not stated ESPHome, Tasmota, Home Assistant, Arduino, KCS v3 firmware no dedicated software
8. Documentation / open resources Documentation; datasheet; schematic; GitHub Documentation; datasheets; schematics; GitHub GitHub; schematics; DXF; STEP model GitHub Learn Guide; schematic; PCB files Documentation; schematic Documentation; datasheet; GitHub Documentation; schematic; forum PDF datasheet
9. Module size, mm 47 × 56 47 × 56 93 × 56 138 × 74 51 × 28 54 × 54 81 × 104 122 × 83 107 × 200
10. Load connectors removable screw terminals, 3.5 mm pitch removable screw terminals, 3.5 mm pitch removable screw terminals, 5 mm pitch fixed screw terminals, 5.08 mm pitch fixed screw terminals, 2.54 mm pitch removable screw terminals, 2.54 mm pitch push-in spring terminals fixed screw terminals, 3.81 mm pitch not stated
11. Price, USD (lowest-cost option, as of October 6, 2026) from $27.50 from $37.50 from $90.00 from $203.95 from $14.95 from $16.95 from $42.00 from $80.00 from $83.05

Notes

  1. This comparison is based solely on manufacturer-published specifications and documentation. No comparative performance testing was performed.
  2. Both IoTextra MOSFET2 configurations have identical output-stage electrical specifications.
  3. IoTextra MOSFET2 is available in multiple output versions with different maximum voltage/current ratings. The table lists the ratings for each version.
  4. The “Max. rated voltage / current per channel” row shows the continuous ratings stated by the manufacturer. Peak current ratings are not compared.
  5. The Sequent Microsystems Eight MOSFETS board has two groups of outputs with different ratings: four high-voltage channels and four high-current channels.
  6. “Not stated” means that the corresponding specification could not be confirmed from the published documentation; it does not necessarily mean that the feature is absent.
  7. Prices are published retail prices as of October 6, 2026, and exclude shipping, taxes, and possible import charges. Prices listed in other currencies were converted to USD at the exchange rate on that date. The price shown for IoTextra MOSFET2 & IoTsmart ESP32-S3 is the combined price of the two components.
  8. The links in the table point to the product pages or documentation used as sources for the comparison.